It's with great pleasure that Metal Blade announces the signing of Germany's DOWNFALL OF GAIA! DOWNFALL OF GAIA eschews clichés and delivers a monolithic¸ yet melodic¸ wall of sound. The band formed in 2008 in Hannover¸ Germany and has released a demo cd¸ a split tape¸ a split LP¸ and a full length album. Their split with In The Hearts of Emperors can be found on bandcamp here:
DOWNFALL OF GAIA started out as a crust band¸ but quickly developed further and have become much more difficult to compare to any other bands. Over the years¸ their songs became longer¸ slower¸ heavier; their influences range from doom to black metal¸ from down-tempo¸ to sludge¸ and hardcore. Their songs have and epic and majestic vibe¸ with enough musical peaks and valleys to keep listeners rooted firmly to the earth throughout 9:00+ minutes of music.

Since day one¸ the four-piece has been an active live band¸ not only performing Germany¸ but also throughout the world: Italy¸ the UK¸ France¸ the Netherlands¸ Scandinavia¸ Eastern Europe¸ and the United States have been witness to their live performances. No matter if they are playing a tiny club or a big festival¸ DOWNFALL OF GAIA are well known for their intense live shows.

"Hailing from Germany¸ these folks really know how to push the limits of a song and drive it in all emotions and musical dynamics"!

"Downfall of Gaia traverse more harrowing emotion than many bands do in their entire discographies. Both intensely atmospheric and relentlessly hard-hitting¸ the band takes hardcore fundamentals and pushes them to emotional extremes¸ flickering between fragility and ferocity"

DOWNFALL OF GAIA comments on their deal with Metal Blade Records: "We feel quite honored to be a part of the Metal Blade family and to work with one of the most notable labels in the world! We are really excited about our Metal Blade debut and the future! A big thank you to all the people who supported us in any way during the last years¸ without you all of this wouldn't be possible!"

DOWNFALL OF GAIA just finished the recording their next batch of music. The concept album¸ Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes¸ will be released later on in 2012. Stay tuned for more information¸ this is a release you do not want to miss!

Dominik Goncalves dos Reis – vocals/guitars
Peter Wolff – vocals/guitars
Anton Lisovoj – vocals/bass
Johannes Stoltenburg - drums


0 Be the first to like this